All schools in England have a Governing Board which is responsible for overseeing many of the strategic decisions of the school. A key role is to act as a critical friend: to support, to challenge, to ask questions, ultimately to represent the school community.

The Governing Board works closely with the Headteacher and here at Truro Nursery School we are very lucky to have a team of Governors with a wide range of experience and skill.

Our current governing body structure and terms of reference can be found by following the links:

governing body structure 1819


Our Chair of Governors can be contacted by email at:


Each Governor has an area of responsibility.  The Governing Board works together as a whole with the exception of the following committees: Pay Committee, Appeals Committee and Headteacher’s Performance Management.

Current Roles and Responsibilities:

Child Protection Dr. B Vann
SEN Mr J Bose
Most Able Mrs S Thrower
Early Years Pupil Premium  
Health and Safety/Premises Mrs K Robilliard
DDA, Equality and Diversity Mr J Bose
Data Protection  
Safeguarding/Children in Care Dr. B Vann
Whistleblowing Mr B Rom
Finance Mr B Rom
Governor Training Mrs S Thrower
ICT and E Safety Mr B Rom
Community and Parent Forum Mrs K Robilliard


Committee Structure:

Pay Committee Mrs K Robilliard – Chair
  Mrs K Attlee
  Mr J Bose


Appeals Committee Mr B Rom
  Dr. B Vann
  Mrs D Todd – Chair (Cluster Appeals)


Headteacher’s Performance Management Mr J Bose – Chair
  Mrs K Robilliard
  Mrs K Attlee


Governor Terms of Office

Name of Governor Role Term of Office


Appointed By Resignation date if applicable
Dr. Barbara Vann Chair

Co-opted Governor

15th June 2015-14th June 2019 Governing Body 15th June 2015  
Mrs Karen Robilliard Vice-Chair

Parent Governor

10th March 2013 – 9th March 2017 Appointed

10th March 2013

Mrs Helen Adams Headteacher September 2009 Appointed

September 2009

Mrs Demelza Todd Local Authority Governor  30th August 2016 – 29th August 2020 Governing Body

30th August 2016

Mr Ben Rom Co-opted Governor 14th March 2016 – 13th March 2020 Governing Body

14th March 2016

Mr Julian Bose Parent Governor 14th July 2014 – 13th July 2018 Elected

14th February 2014

Mrs Susan Thrower Whole Staff Governor 10th February 2016 – 9th February 2020 Appointed by staff

10th February 2016

Mrs Kate Attlee Parent Governor 19th January 2016 – 18th January 2020 Elected

19th January 2016

Mrs Susan Bennetts Clerk 7th March 2013 Appointed

7th March 2013

Mrs Julie Benson Whole Staff Governor 14th April 2015 – 13th April 2019 Appointed

14th April

10th January 2016


Governor’s Financial Details and Register of Interest

  Governance Role in another educational institution Material interest arising from a relationship between governors and school staff Other Business and Financial Interests
Dr. B Vann Governor at Tregolls School    
Mrs K Robilliard     Volunteer at Archbishop Benson School
Mrs H Adams   Husband is Headteacher at Pennoweth School  
Mrs D Todd     Trustee at Carrick Mind
Mr B Rom  


Wife has fulfilled a teaching supply post at Truro Nursery School  
Mr J Bose  


  Company Secretary to Inspire Cornwall CIC
Mrs S Thrower      
Mrs K Attlee      






Attendance At Meetings Academic Year 2017 – 2018

  20/11/2017 05/02/2018 26/03/2018 14/05/2018 01/10/2018    
Dr. B Vann yes yes yes yes  yes    
Mrs K Robilliard yes yes yes yes  yes    


Mrs H Adams yes yes yes yes  yes    
Mr D Jones yes yes apologies yes  yes    


Mr B Rom apologies yes yes yes  yes    
Mr J Bose yes apologies yes yes  yes    
Mrs S Thrower yes  apologies  yes yes  yes    
Mrs Kate Attlee apologies yes yes yes  yes